All About Grains

Grain is the cultivated members of the grass family which people use as food. Grains are a staple all throughout the world. Given that different kinds of grain grow in accordance with the climate or any other environmental factors, each country has its own unique way of using grains.

In third world countries, a lot of people can’t do without grains, particularly, rice, maize, and wheat. On the other hand, in more developed countries in which incomes are way higher as compared to third world countries, grain consumption is considerably lower. However, if you come to think of it, the consumption of grain in developed countries is higher than what it seems because of the high meat consumption. Those animals are practically fed with grain, particularly corn.

Generally, grains lack lysine, which is an essential amino acid. Vegetarians may complement their grain intake with legumes like peanuts, lentils, and beans, among others, in order to have sufficient amino acid in the body. Legumes, on the other hand, lack methionine, which is an essential amino acid that you can get from grains. That’s why these two work hand in hand. Peanut butter sandwiches, corn with beans, and rice and dal are just among the common food combinations of grains and legumes in different cultures or countries.

Among the most commonly used grains across the globe, which contain gluten, include wheat, rye, barley, oats, durum, emmer, einkorn, and spelt. Other grains include rice, maize, wild rice, teff, fonio, millet, sorghum, and triticale. Some of them might contain gluten, but different from those of the first set. So they say, gluten in oats are not like wheat gluten, thus making it safe for people with Celiac disease, but this is debatable.

Furthermore, the definition of corn depends on the geography. In the UK, it refers to the “chief cereal crop of a district.” In England, it refers to wheat, while in Scotland it refers to oats. In America, as well as Canada, corn refers to maize. If you have gluten intolerance of any sort, you can consume corn only if it says on the packaging that it’s intended for the market of North America. Otherwise, you will suffer from a major trouble.

More Celiac Articles

Gluten Free Handbook