Checking The Label For Gluten

If you’re suffering from bloating, diarrhea, weight loss, gas, and even feel scrawny all the time but don’t have a single clue why, then you may be sensitive to gluten. Worse, you may have Celiac disease.

Gluten is a protein composite found in foods that contain wheat rye, malt, and barley. If unfortunately, you really are sensitive to gluten, you may have to avoid these grains for the rest of your life. It can be pretty hard at first, and it will take some getting used to, but it will pay off.

One thing that makes a gluten-free diet particularly heartbreaking is the fact that you have to stay away from bread and any other related products. You also have to rid yourself of all the pasta, cereals, bagels, burger buns, pizza, yes, all the good stuff.

But that’s no longer the case these days, since gluten-free awareness is rapidly spreading, majority of food manufactures now have gluten-free options. Instead of the usual wheat, they substitute corn, potato, and rice flour. You can have these products to your heart’s content, just as long as you’re sure they’re 100% gluten-free. Even dessert and pastry chefs offer sweet treats that have zero gluten.

It is a common knowledge to always read the label especially when you’re conscious about what you eat. If you don’t take the extra effort, you may miss hidden sources of gluten.

Some alarming ingredients are wheat, wheat flour, wheat gluten, wheat starch, rye, barley, and malt. Since hydrolyzed vegetable protein contain protein, it’s included in the to-avoid list.

There are gluten-containing foods that most of us don’t know about such as pizza, crackers, cakes, and beer. They’re not very obvious. All you have to do to prevent yourself from suffering is just diligently check the label of every food purchase you make. You’ll never know how much pain you can get from one single bite of a food you never thought would have this evil gluten.

Find More Gluten Free Articles

 

Gluten Free Handbook