Posts tagged "considered"

Is Oatmeal Gluten Free?

Oats are deemed one of the most controversial grains because some claim they should not considered gluten free. They may be subject to what is known as cross contamination. This happens when a grain comes in contact with each other. This could happen from many different sources, like rotation of crops and cooking environments.

Gluten Free Handbook

Be the first to comment - What do you think?
Posted by Chloe Boggs - December 3, 2013 at 2:55 pm

Categories: Gluten Free Videos   Tags: , , , , ,

What We All Need To Know About Gluten

Gluten is considered to be among the most common ingredients found in the western diet, but only a little number of people know a thing or two about it. A myriad of health conditions are also associated with the consumption of foods that have this as ingredient, and that is what gives that no one is off the hook when it comes to this topic.

Gluten Free Handbook

Be the first to comment - What do you think?
Posted by Chloe Boggs - November 14, 2013 at 8:05 am

Categories: Gluten Free Videos   Tags: , , , , , , ,

Oats – Are They Gluten Free?

Oats are considered to be among the most controversial of the grains because in and of themselves they are not considered gluten free. However, they may be subject to what is called cross contamination. This happens when a grain comes in contact with another. This could happen from many different sources, such as rotation of crops as well as cooking environments.

A lot of farmers that deal with oats often include in the rotation, other grains like wheat, barley, rye and a host of others. It must be noted that the comparison that we’re discussing is with the grains that usually have gluten since that is where the problem lies. Advanced farming techniques have taught us that rotating crops produces better outcome but this rotation usually happens at a cost, there are residual gluten sources from the wheat, barley, or rye when it’s the time for oats \to grow.

A lot of grains are transported by rail and such cars are rarely fully sanitized to get rid of products that may have been transported previously. This could only mean that if it’s time for oats to be transported and any preceding transport was for any of those other grains, contamination may happen.

Generally, if a person is intolerant to gluten but they do not suffer from celiac disease then they can get away with a very little amount of it that may have sneaked in. A person suffering from celiac disease however, can tolerate so little gluten that the risk is totally not worth it. This is heartbreaking too since oats usually are a great source of fiber. But remember that beans are an even better source of fiber and beans are gluten-free.

The industry is sure to get better in its handling of oats, possibly to the point where a person suffering from celiac disease can eat them sans worrying. It’s not so clear if we are at that point already. However, things are already improving. When manufacturers commit to the process, more will take the plunge just because of the competitive nature of markets.

Gluten Free Handbook

Be the first to comment - What do you think?
Posted by Chloe Boggs - July 25, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Categories: Gluten Free Articles   Tags: , , , , , , ,

What is considered gluten free flour and gluten + flour?

Question by jljjaguar: What is considered gluten free flour and gluten + flour?
I’m doing a science experiment on baking biscuits. I would like to know if i use gluten free flour in place of all purpose flour if it will make a difference in the structure and appearance of the biscuit. Same with gluten added into already gluten flour! but i don’t know how to get that kind of material? Or what is more added gluten? help please!

Best answer:

Answer by tiggsy
Gluten is the protein in wheat, rye, barley, spelt and a few other closely related grains. It’s not in corn, rice, or oats.

Gluten free flour would be flour from something or a mixture, which does not contain gluten.

Some examples: cornstarch, rice flour, potato flour, sorghum flour, soy flour, gram flour (aka garbanzo bean flour, chickpea flour or besan), coconut flour.

You can get gluten free flours in Whole Foods and Trader Joes in the US, I believe. In the UK, most bigger supermarkets will have it, most likely in the “free from” section. For this experiment, I would choose an all purpose gluten free flour mix, or you might like the results using coconut flour if you can get it.

Gluten plus flour? I’m not sure, it may be what we in the UK call bread flour, which is made from a grade of wheat that contains more gluten than normal wheat, or it might be a flour that has had extra gluten added for the same reason.

Gluten is the part of flour that makes dough stretchy, which is why you need a high level of gluten to make bread (which contains a lot of air because it rises a lot).

Add your own answer in the comments!

Gluten Free Handbook

Be the first to comment - What do you think?
Posted by GlutenFree - April 10, 2013 at 1:19 pm

Categories: Gluten Free Questions   Tags: , , , , , ,

Where can I find gluten free/egg free mayo?

Question by Sarah P: Where can I find gluten free/egg free mayo?
I am looking for gluten free/egg free mayo. And before you say they don’t make it, they do cause I’ve bought it before but the store stopped carrying it so now I’m trying to find it online but can’t. Or even if anyone knows a recipe so that I can make it.

Best answer:

Answer by Kriis

Have you considered making your own? This recipe should help:

Homemade Olive Oil Mayonnaise

3-5 (~3/4 c.) free range whole eggs or equivalent egg substitute (tofu)
2 c. extra virgin olive oil
1 t. mustard powder
1 t. sea salt
garlic powder, to taste
3 T. lemon juice

Optional Add-Ins (Any combo):

tarragon
rosemary
parsley
curry
cayenne pepper

Combine everything except the olive oil. Blend until smooth on medium speed (about 1 minute).

Carefully and slowly pour the olive oil into the running blender, a little at a time. Blend for an additional 30 seconds to mix the flavors.

Serve or refrigerate.

Hope this helps!

Know better? Leave your own answer in the comments!

Gluten Free Handbook

5 comments - What do you think?
Posted by GlutenFree - March 21, 2013 at 1:20 pm

Categories: Gluten Free Questions   Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Sweet Berry Quinoa Porridge – Gluten Free Recipe

Quinoa is an ancient Aztec grain, naturally gluten free and considered one of the few naturally occurring complete protein grains.

This is a fantastic alternative to boxed cereals that are denatured and void of any naturally occurring nutrients. It is also a nice replacement for porridge lovers who need to avoid the gluten that can be problematic in the oats.

The high protein content of this grain combined with whole milk and coconut oil will keep even the strongest appetite going until lunch!

The berries can be changed to suit the seasons or homemade seasonal fruit compote can be added.

Gluten Free Handbook

Be the first to comment - What do you think?
Posted by GlutenFree - July 20, 2011 at 12:44 pm

Categories: Gluten Free Recipes, Gluten Free Videos   Tags: , , ,