Q&A: What foods are staples in a dairy and gluten free diet?

Question by Geeeek: What foods are staples in a dairy and gluten free diet?
I’m going on a dairy and gluten free diet because of complications with psoriasis and was wondering which foods are commonly consumed by people who eat this way.

Also, what are some common foods that I would think are fine that I should avoid?

Thanks.

Best answer:

Answer by cyn_texas
I would suggest you check out the low carb recipe sites. Their recipes are almost all lactose & gluten free.

Gluten is also used in foods in some unexpected ways, for example as a stabilizing agent or thickener in products like ice-cream and ketchup.

Lactose is usually the allergen in milk but you should be able to have cheese, butter, whey protein, cream and probably even yogurt. I have been low carbing for nearly 6 years and my diet is very high in seeds now. I eat flax seeds & chia seeds almost every day. Chia seeds really have no taste, and swell up absorbing 10X their weight in fluid, an ounce will make 10 oz of food. I usually include them as half the volume of most all foods.

Chia seeds sound so expensive but 1# will make 10# food – Amazon.com has couple lbs. for $ 16 shipped to you. I buy in bulk (24#) from getchia.com for $ 6# with free shipping.

Chia seeds – 3.5 oz is nearly 500 calories, half calories from fat (high in Omega3 fatty acids) 38g fiber 151%DV & 16grams of COMPLETE protein for 6grams carbs & 63% DV Calcium – 95% Phosphorus – 23% Zinc – 9% Copper – 108% Manganese.

Faux tapioca – 2 cups of water, 5 scoops of low carb whey protein powder, stir together & add cup of chia seeds, after they have started to absorb the water, add in 2 cans of coconut milk (or cream and added water) & sweetener if you like and mix it all in. Can be eaten after an hour but will be better tomorrow. Cream a pkg. of cream cheese into a can of pumpkin and add to the faux tapioca for an even more nutritious pumpkin pie pudding.

per wiki –

Several grains and starch sources are considered acceptable for a gluten-free diet. The most frequently used are maize, potatoes, rice, and tapioca (derived from cassava). Other grains and starch sources generally considered suitable for gluten-free diets include amaranth, arrowroot, millet, montina, lupin, quinoa, sorghum (jowar), sweet potato, taro, teff, chia seed, and yam. Various types of bean, soybean, and nut flours are sometimes used in gluten-free products to add protein and dietary fiber. In spite of its name, buckwheat is not related to wheat; pure buckwheat is considered acceptable for a gluten-free diet, although many commercial buckwheat products are actually mixtures of wheat and buckwheat flours, and thus not acceptable. Gram flour, derived from chickpeas, is also gluten-free (this is not the same as Graham flour made from wheat).

What do you think? Answer below!

Gluten Free Handbook